So the 25 man squad for the first half of the season has been announced as is the new Premier League rules. No surprises really. Here’s the list:

  • Mark Schwarzer,
  • David Stockdale,
  • John Pantsil,
  • Fredrik Stoor,
  • Aaron Hughes,
  • Rafik Halliche,
  • Chris Baird,
  • Brede Hangeland,
  • Carlos Salcido,
  • Stephen Kelly,
  • Zoltan Gera,
  • Clinton Dempsey,
  • Bjorn Helge Riise,
  • Dickson Etuhu,
  • Kagisho Dikgacoi,
  • Danny Murphy,
  • Jonathan Greening,
  • Simon Davies,
  • Damien Duff,
  • Andrew Johnson,
  • Diomansy Kamara,
  • Moussa Dembele,
  • Bobby Zamora,
  • David Elm,
  • Eddie Johnson.

The only thing that worries me slightly is that we only have two recognised goal keepers. And one of them is out for around two months. Pascal Zuberbühler isn’t featured in the 25 man squad at all, meaning if Schwarzer returns to the first team next week we will have a young, untested ‘keeper on the bench.

Elsewhere in the squad both Johnson and Kamara are included showing that Hughes has faith they’ll be fit and ready for the first team before Christmas, whereas Senderos is left out.