Select Page

France coach Jacques Santini has named his 23-man squad for the European Championship in Portugal in the summer.

Arsenal’s Patrick Vieira, Robert Pires, Sylvain Wiltord and Thierry Henry are selected, as are Manchester United duo Mikael Silvestre and Louis Saha.

Chelsea trio Marcel Desailly, William Gallas and Claude Makelele are in but Auxerre’s Philippe Mexes was omitted.

Manchester City striker Nicolas Anelka and Fulham midfielder Steed Malbranque also failed to make the final squad.

France’s Euro 2004 squad:

Goalkeepers: Fabien Barthez (Marseille), Gregory Coupet (Lyon), Mickael Landreau (Nantes).
Defenders: Jean-Alain Boumsong (Auxerre), Marcel Desailly (Chelsea), William Gallas (Chelsea), Bixente Lizarazu (Bayern Munich), Mikael Silvestre (Manchester United), Lilian Thuram (Juventus), Willy Sagnol (Bayern Munich)
Midfielders: Ludovic Giuly (Monaco), Claude Makelele (Chelsea), Olivier Dacourt (Roma), Patrick Vieira (Arsenal), Robert Pires (Arsenal), Jerome Rothen (Monaco), Sylvain Wiltord (Arsenal), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid), Benoit Pedretti (Sochaux)
Strikers: Thierry Henry (Arsenal), David Trezeguet (Juventus), Louis Saha (Manchester United), Steve Marlet (Marseille).